Are you still in your timeshare rescission period?

Use the guide below to see if you can cancel your contract and receive a full refund without engaging an attorney.

Remember, timeshare rescission periods are based on the state or country you purchased in, not the state you live in, since many people buy a timeshare while on vacation.

If you have a special situation, or purchased in Mexico, please download our free eBook for more information on timeshare rescission. This resource will help you write a rescission letter, and find the correct address to send the letter to.

Alabama: 5 calendar days, unless the 5th day is Sunday

Alaska: 15 calendar days, starting at receipt of the Public Offering Statement

Arizona: 7 calendar days

Arkansas: 5 calendar days

California: 7 calendar days after purchase or receipt of public report

Colorado: 5 calendar days

Connecticut: 5 calendar days after purchase or receipt of timeshare disclosure statement

Delaware: 5 business days

District of Columbia: 15 calendar days after purchase or receipt of current public offering statement

Florida: 10 calendar days after purchase or receipt of all required documents

Georgia: 7 calendar days, not including Sundays and holidays

Hawaii: 7 calendar days after purchase or receipt of timeshare disclosure statement

Idaho: 5 calendar days

Illinois: 5 calendar days after purchase or receipt of public offering statement

Indiana: 72 hours, not including Sundays or legal holidays

Iowa: 5 business days after receiving required documents

Kansas: 3 business days, if the contract was the result of a door-to-door sale

Kentucky: 3 business days (out of state timeshares, vacation clubs) or 5 business days (in-state timeshares)

Louisiana: 7 calendar days after purchase or receipt of public offering statement

Maine: 10 calendar days after purchase or receipt of the disclosure statement

Maryland: 10 calendar days after purchase, receipt of public offering statement, or the date the unit is ready for occupancy

Massachusetts: 3 business days after receiving the public offering statement

Michigan: 9 business days after receipt of all required documents

Minnesota: 5 calendar days after receipt of a copy of the contract and public offering statement

Mississippi: 7 calendar days after purchase or receipt of public offering statement

Missouri: 5 calendar days

Montana: 7 calendar days after purchase or receipt of public offering statement

Nebraska: 3 business days after receipt of public offering statement

Nevada: 5 calendar days 6

New Hampshire: 5 calendar days after purchase or receipt of public offering statement

New Jersey: 7 calendar days after purchase or receipt of public offering statement

New Mexico: 7 calendar days

New York: 7 business days

North Carolina: 5 calendar days

North Dakota: No rescission period specified by law; consult your contract

Ohio: 3 business days, if purchase occurred in your home

Oklahoma: 5 calendar days after receipt of signed contract and public offering statement

Oregon: 5 calendar days after purchase, or when a cancellation address is provided

Pennsylvania: 7 calendar days after receipt of public offering statement

Rhode Island: 5 business days after purchase or receipt of all required documents

South Carolina: 5 calendar days after purchase or receipt of disclosure agreement

South Dakota: 7 calendar days after purchase or receipt of disclosure statement

Tennessee: 10 calendar days if purchaser inspected site, 15 calendar days if purchaser never saw the site, and time limit doesn’t begin until the purchaser receives the public offering statement

Texas: 6 calendar days after purchase or receipt of timeshare disclosure statement

Utah: 5 business days

Vermont: 3 business days, if purchase occurs in your home

Virginia: 7 calendar days, unless 7th day is a Sunday or legal holiday

Washington: 7 calendar days after purchase or receipt of disclosure statement

West Virginia: 10 calendar days after purchase or receipt of public offering statement

Wisconsin: 5 calendar days after purchase or receipt of timeshare disclosure statement

Wyoming: 3 business days after purchase or receipt of a copy of the contract with all necessary cancellation information, and if the purchase occurs in your home

To read more about timeshare rescission periods, you can visit the Federal Trade Commission’s website. Or check out our Sample Rescission Letter template.